Luray Vacation Rental Guest Reviews

Reviewed: Aug 12, 2020
We had a wonderful time at Mountain Top Retreat! It was plenty spacious and had so many neat amenities. The views were absolutely breath-taking. We enjoyed playing corn hole and cards many nights. We spent a lot of time just enjoying the views. We saw many deer and a bear cub. We went to Luray Caverns and hiked Storybrook trail and the little nature trail on site. Very clean and plenty to keep you entertained. Do not go with the thought that the WiFi will be good enough to do much of anything with, it was spotty at best. An absolutely wonderful stay and we will probably look into renting it again in the fall. Sara & Michele
View Property: 165324
Reviewed: Aug 10, 2020
Hello our stay was wonderful. The house was beautiful and very clean the property was great we couldnt have asked for a better place to stay for a weekend getaway we will definitely do it again. Thank you Andrea
View Property: 26632
Reviewed: Aug 7, 2020
My girlfriend and I stayed here for an away weekend and had a great time. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the property owner, Susan, who is so nice and accommodating. She lives upstairs, but you are given peace and quiet with the whole middle level of the house to yourself. The place was very cozy and comfortable, despite being a little dated. There were some bugs here and there (but thats to be expected with a house in the woods). The property is really great. We walked around some, and went on a short hiking trail next to the property. There is also a park access road steps away, that takes you to the main hiking in the park. The best part, though, was the view! It really is fantastic, and the pictures dont do it justice to be honest. Even though it rained for a couple days we were there, the views of the mist over the mountains were amazing. This was definitely our favorite part and worth the trip - just hanging on the back deck with a book, coffee or beer, and taking in the view
View Property: 107107
Reviewed: Jul 30, 2020
This is a beautiful property, one of the best we have stayed at in the Shenandoah Valley area. The stone house is very modern, spacious, and clean. Lots of space to stretch out. Master bedroom has a huge, comfortable bed (tough to find in many VA rentals, IMO). There is even a well-equipped game room in the garage. The grounds really are a high point. Beautiful view of the Shenandoah Mountains, a nice fire pit, a nearby brook, and lots of green space to stroll. We continuously encountered deer and rabbits. Our dog absolutely loved it. Also only about 30 minutes from two entrances to Shenandoah National Park (Thornton Gap and Swift Run) for those interested in hiking or exploring Skyline Drive. Andrew
View Property: 26632
Reviewed: Jul 23, 2020
Wow! What an amazing place! We had a very underwhelming experience renting a place in Luray a few years ago and were hesitant to try again. The Willow Bend Stone Cottage was everything wed hoped for and then some. The pictures on the website do not do this place justice. Everything was clean and up to date, the beds were comfortable, and the back yard was amazing (definitely the star of the show). Do yourself a favor, make reservations and thank me later. Jason
View Property: 26632
Reviewed: Jul 22, 2020
My boyfriend, dog, and I stayed at Love and Dreams in Luray, VA over the July 4th holiday weekend. Prior to arriving we saw mixed reviews and so our expectations were mixed. We ended up having a blast and really enjoyed the place. There is not a breath taking view like other options you might happen upon, however you are situated in the woods surrounded by nature; its incredibly peaceful. We loved the fire pit and used it every night for smores, campfire cooking, or just for fun. It got cool enough at night to enjoy the fire. The AC works really well, so even if youre there in the crazy heat you can find reprieve. The bed was really comfortable, and there was plenty of space for us all! The kitchen was equipped with pots, pans, cutlery, leftover items from prior guests (including spices, soap), coffee maker, wine glasses, and other gadgets that might come in handy. If you do wind up needing something else, theres a Walmart located about a 5 minute drive away! The check-in procedure suggests bringing your own coal, but the grill is gas run and when we arrived a decently full gas tank was there, likely left over from a previous guest. Similarly the company recommends bringing firewood, which we did end up going to buy due to eventual laziness; but theres also plenty of wood surrounding the property that we collected to fuel our fires. Similarly to prior guests, we were able to use sofa cushions to black out the roof-window in the bedroom; it worked out nicely. Im a really light sleeper and slept in past 6:30 am for the first time in months here :). The cabin is located around many awesome trailheads that are in reasonable driving distance. A Skyline Drive entrance is also not too far (~40minutes). Given COVID-19 we didnt explore restaurants/breweries/wineries; we kept it simple with just outdoor hiking and staying in. We used every amenity we could, from the grill and fire pit to the hot tub. Everything was really enjoyable! If youre looking for a comfortable cabin experience in the VA mountains that also wont totally break the bank, Love and Dreams will satisfy your needs!
View Property: 26895
Reviewed: Jul 22, 2020
Our host was very kind and greeted us upon arrival. The house and property is very dog friendly as well as providing enough space for outdoor activities (i.e. yard games). The fire pit was an awesome touch as most cabin property is completely down hill. The location was further than expected from the entrances to Shenandoah National Park, but good proximity to Luray and the Shenandoah River. Though it was just the two of us and a dog, there would be plenty of seating for a larger party. The space could use some updates, but still covered our needs. Overall, great time & stay Holly
View Property: 107107
Reviewed: Jul 21, 2020
We had a a wonderful visit to Luray and Shenandoah National Park. The River, the Mountains and the caverns are all right there. Thank you Allstar for your engagement through out the process. The check in correspondence was timely but not overly so to be burdensome. And thank you for the heads up on the washed out side of Grand View road, very helpful. Its Owl Good was a delightful cabin for our visit. We enjoy our cooking and all the neccessay cook ware was there. Though the knives in the tupperware bin over the fridge took a little searching for. Having both a gas grill and charcoal grill was very nice to use and then to sit on the deck and watch the sun set was just so delightful. Amazing vista. Our time there was not only fun, with lots to do, but also relaxing and peaceful. Thank you again. Bradford
View Property: 160959
Reviewed: Jul 17, 2020
Our group consisted of six adults, who have all enjoyed camping and canoeing the Shenandoah in the past. As we have gotten older, sleeping in a tent is not as enjoyable as it once was. We still wanted a rustic outdoors experience though. The River Escape Cabin was perfect. Secluded, near the river, fire pit/ fireplace, a tire swing, hot tub, but with all the comforts of home like a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, linens, towels, two showers, and even some books and games. The rough hewn timber framing, sectional couch and floor to ceiling windows in the sitting room gives a very comfortable way to enjoy the views of nature. Everyone had a wonderful weekend and we would absolutely stay at the cabin again. Jackson
View Property: 47338
Reviewed: Jul 17, 2020
Our stay was fabulous. The house and property were beautiful. We could have stayed there the hole time and just enjoyed the property but we had made some plans to do some other things. It was great for our dogs to be left to just run and get some exercise. We were even able to meet the owner and found out some things about our heritage that we did not know. The only thing I would suggest (and this is not a complaint) is that the vacuum be replaced or cleaned or checked. It would not suck up anything that was on the carpet unless you used the attachment. I tried really hard to clean up dog hair from my dogs and it was difficult. I really have nothing to complain about. Wish we could have stayed longer. I am very please with the confirmation calls that we received and answers to all of our questions. Thank you all for great service, I will definitely recommend you and use you again. Stephanie
View Property: 26792
Reviewed: Jul 7, 2020
The pictures do not do this place justice. It was beautiful and rustic with modern upgrades. Very welcoming and relaxing. They provided everything we needed for a relaxing stay. The cabin was amazingly clean. We will definitely be back again soon!! Tareena
View Property: 109133
Reviewed: Jun 19, 2020
Thank you for your email, and thank you for allowing us to rent the cabin! Please feel free to share my comments below, as I want folks to understand how truly wonderful the cabin was! We had the best time! I rented the cabin for two nights, as that Sunday was the 3 year anniversary of my husband suddenly passing. My daughters, who came with me are 25 and 15. My oldest also has a 4 month baby. We also brought my aunt and of course the pups. Our dogs, who are 11 and 9, have had to make a major adjustment moving from a house with a big yard into an apartment close to the city. As soon as we arrived, they both jumped out of the car and went immediately to the pond for a swim. They were in heaven! At one point, one of the dogs realized there were fish in the pond and he has a major prey drive. Hed sit on the dock and just watch the water tracking. At one point on Saturday we went outside to find him in the little boat, happy and content! I was sneaky and did not tell the girls there wasnt wifi until we got there They griped at first, but soon realized the joys of putting away the phones! On Saturday, my parents and sister/kids stopped by (they live about 45 minutes away)for dinner. We also released butterflies to remember my husband and it was the perfect setting. The cabin was clean, and so spacious. The girls loved the attic area. I will definitely keep this cabin in mind for future needs, and hope to do some kind of family reunion there. It is nice to get away with o much space and remember what family and relaxation is all about. Thank you for allowing us the beautiful cabin!
View Property: 136146
Reviewed: Jun 17, 2020
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!! The cabin was perfect for us. Loved the seclusion of it and the proximity to the river. The setting could not be any lovelier! The cabin was clean, quaint and well-appointed! It was just what we needed. We are making plans to come back in September and rent both cabins with a couple of other family members! Cant wait!! Also, Zane was great to work with. Helpful and very responsive! Looking forward to working with him in the future! Monica
View Property: 166719
Reviewed: Jun 10, 2020
Dear Allstar Lodging, We cant begin to say just how pleased we were with our stay at a cozy cabin in Luray, VA. The cabin and accommodations exceeded our expectations. The cabin was very clean, had all needed amenities and was of course very cozy. We will definitely rent this cabin again when we are coming that way. The owners take pride in their property and it showed throughout. Best Regards, Jeff & Stephanie
View Property: 109133
Reviewed: May 29, 2020
This place was fantastic for our group. The location was very convenient to grocery and all the activities we were looking for. There are several kayak rentals within 30 min and same goes for an entrance to the Shenandoah National Parks skyline drive. The house itself was cozy and provided everything we needed. The fully stocked kitchen was a huge plus since we usually bring some of our own cookware just in case a house isnt as fully stocked as promised - this was not an issue at this place! The backyard was a great setup as well for smores and group games. Will definitely be back if we are looking to stay in this area again!
View Property: 26632
Reviewed: May 22, 2020
5/16/2020 Quarantine 2020 Thank you for a new "stay at home" scenery! Rented a few cabins around Shenandoah area and this by far the best! So many accommodations and thoughtfulness! Gift basket is very nice and appreciated! Tried to go hiking in Shenandoah park but all entrances closed. Check website before driving an hour to a trail! Went fishing at Arrowhead Lake instead. Had an amazing weekend! Thank-you! Lisa and Danny
View Property: 109133
Reviewed: May 20, 2020
This place checked every box: convenient, secluded, clean, and well-appointed. And then we got there and were pleasantly surprised with just how everything has been thought of. Both the house and the outdoor area are brimming with details that made the stay perfect
View Property: 128515
Reviewed: Mar 6, 2020
A wonderful, relaxing weekend away, thanks to the great folks at Allstar Lodging. The house was exactly as advertised, clean and the kitchen was well provisioned. Thank you for the great service Heather
View Property: 26908
Reviewed: Nov 20, 2019
Our stay at A Cozy Cabin was amazing! My wife and I went there for our 10 year- anniversary, and had the best time. The cabin was beautiful, and extremely clean. You can tell the owners really care about the appearance of the cabin, and it was so kind of them to leave the lovely gift basket. My wife and I are already planning on coming back. Thanks for everything! Tiffany & Adam
View Property: 109133
Reviewed: Nov 8, 2019
We really enjoyed our stay and the accommodation. The cabin was immaculate and had everything we needed for our stay. We would definitely return again. Thank you! David and Natalie
View Property: 128515
Reviewed: Oct 31, 2019
An amazing little getaway house in a quaint and quiet section of Luray The house was immaculate! Super clean, and smelled of rustic wood, which was perfect for the setting! The views were breathtaking, the hot tub was perfect temp, and there were no maintenance issues. I would stay here again no questions asked 2 light bulbs were out? I mean, that was literally the worst part. Everything was top notch! Theresa
View Property: 149976
Reviewed: Oct 31, 2019
Amos was better than most of the cabins weve stayed at as far as accommodations and amenities. Most rentals wont have a ping pong table, foosball and a pool table in their garage. It was really like renting someones home. Yes it was in the foothills and not up in the mountains, but we still saw wildlife each morning and evening and it was secluded enough to love the campfire. Overall it was a 9 1/2 out of 10. Peter
View Property: 26632
Reviewed: Oct 24, 2019
Hi there! We absolutely loved our stay at Stone House! The house is gorgeous! Love the huge bedrooms and the comfortable beds! Very nice master bath and steam shower. The living room and kitchen were cozy with everything supplied that we needed. The land surrounding the property is wide open and just beautiful! And the river is right there. I cant really think of any improvements. It was more than we expected! We truly are hoping to return in the future. Ariane
View Property: 62428
Reviewed: Oct 17, 2019
Allstar Lodging Staff, We arrived shortly after 3 PM on Friday, October 11, 2019. The cabin was exactly as pictured and was perfect. We found a personalized note along with a basket of goodies. The owners were very responsive. My boys discovered the batteries were missing from a WII controller and within 45 minutes- we had a pack of batteries in hand. The cabin is immaculate, well-furnished and spotlessly clean. The kitchen is equipped with most anything one would need. The Kuerig was a welcomed bonus as well. The Hot tub was well cared for and clean. The location is handy to the town of Luray and the cabin itself faces Stony Man and Hawksbill Mountains. It is quiet and peaceful and just what I was looking for. If the question is would I stay here again? My answer is a resounding YES. Regards, Bret
View Property: 128515
Reviewed: Oct 10, 2019
Had the most Wonderful time at your cabin. Clean, lots of kitchen gadgets, pots/pans and was able to cook what we brought without worrying. The property is roomy, peaceful & fun! Lots of space for our yellow lab to just walk around and enjoy sniffing.. We had the most fun playing hide & seek outdoors. My granddaughter enjoyed. We all did! Very clean, loved the basket of goodies, so kind of you. We sure will be staying there again! It was such an excellent, fun, and Relaxing time. Thanks for having such a wonderful place without people all around. The quiet was most enjoyed. Loved the fire pit in evening roasting marshmallows! Til next time..Peach and Love..the Lacarmens
View Property: 109133
Reviewed: Oct 4, 2019
This is an absolutely amazing location - right on the river, with beautiful views all round. Very quiet and private, the owners have done a tremendous job in transforming the home into a little paradise. Our favorite activity after a day of hiking was to sit in the hot tub and watch the sun set. We also loved watching the geese traverse the greenspace up and down the shore, where they bedded down right in the front yard. One thing we couldnt figure out though was how to get the bright motion sensor light outside to turn off at night; it sort of illuminated the front master bedroom. Robin&Rob
View Property: 26326